Judge from Bochum Weighs in on the Israeli Flag Fine

Faithful readers of this blog will know that I have been in contact with officials from the municiality of Bochum, Germany where a student was described by the Jerusalem Post as being fined for carrying an Israeli flag at an anti-Israel protest.  I just got the following email from Judge Patrick Van Ryn of Bochum:

with reference to your e-mail I want to inform you that the student was not fined because of waving the flag of Israel.

In fact she violated the “law of assembly”, because she has not declared the assembly accurately timed. The municipal court has been the opinion that the student did not produce a so-called “innocuous situation”. The obligatory registration has the intention to enable the police authority to avoid a confrontation of opponents or to minimize the risks resulting from this.
I hope, that I have answered your questions.

As I do not know anything about German law or about the specific incedent other than what I read in the Jerusalem Post article, I will refrain from commenting.  I invite comments by people more knowledgable on the subject than myself.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

